#RoadTherapy

STATS – Day: 87 | Distance: 9749.70 miles | Location: Cheyenne, Wyoming | Money Spent To Date – Gas: $1,036.21 | Food: $1,177.38 | Play/Misc: $453.48| Lodging $1,405.51

I’m in Cheyenne, Wyoming hanging with a friend from Gradate School. Cheyenne is about a 2-hour drive from my last stop in Greenwood Village, Colorado where I stayed with a friend from High School. I’ve had such a great time catching up with these two wonderful peeps. Travel (and Facebook) is a great way to stay connected.

High School Friends Reunited!
High School Friends Reunited!

Although Greenwood Village and Cheyenne are so close, it still took me 5-hours to drive it because I STOP EVERYWHERE! I’m much more of a journey person, than a destination. I love the process of getting somewhere, not just arriving. I’ll see a sign for a roadside attraction and will drive 40 miles in a different direction just to see it. I have had 1 or 2 times when I never even make it to my chosen destination, and that is perfectly good with me.

This is my longest road trip yet, day 87 of 120 days, and I’ve noticed that my time is different on the road. If I didn’t need to make Airbnb/Wwoofing reservations or schedule visits with friends I would have absolutely no concept of time at all!

Since I do schedule my arrivals, my concept of time has changed. When I had a steady job and routines I knew what day it was (Monday, Tuesday, Friday), but not the date (is today the 3rd or 4th?). But now I know what date it is (today is the 10th, tomorrow I head for Casper, WY where I will be until the 14th) but I have no idea what day of the week it is. It doesn’t matter if it’s a Monday or a Saturday.

I’ve been doing a lot of thinking on the road. I can actually THINK! The road has become my own therapist. It’s a lot cheaper than paying someone else, and probably gives better advice too! I found a lot of the answers I look for are already within me, I simply need to give them time and room to come out.

Elk
Elk

Driving on the open road gives you time to think, time to question, time to plan, time to dream, time to be joyful, and time to grieve. On the road is where a lot of my ideas are generated, so I use the microphone on my cell phone to take notes and get the ideas OUT!

I’m taking in all this amazing beauty around me while in one space, over 4-wheels and an engine. I get very emotional. I cry A LOT! Sometimes it’s a sad wistful cry about a personal loss (my cousin Cassie, my kitty Mya) or a friend’s hardship and loss or a country’s loss. Sometimes I miss seeing the beautiful wonderful face of loving friend or family member. Sometimes it’s in awe of the sheer beauty of this big beautiful world that I didn’t really take serious time to notice before, such a tragedy in itself. Sometimes it is in the complete happiness that I am HERE doing exactly what I’ve always wanted to do but didn’t have the guts to jump in with both feet. I feel SO BLESSED.

Nature's Gift
Nature’s Gift

Sometimes I can’t even identify WHY I’m crying, but I let the tears flow freely and JUST BE.

“Would you like an adventure now, or shall we have our tea first?” – Peter Pan

Next Blog: #OffTheGrid

Previous Blog: #TrashOrTreasure

Back to Pipe’s Adventure

12 thoughts on “#RoadTherapy

  1. Takes a strong person to really cry– doesn’t it…. I’m so sorry about sweet Mya – I’m glad you mentioned her – I have wanted to ask – this trip has been healing !

    Like

  2. Here’s probably my fav post so far… it resonates well with me. Heart you Pepper… Heart you for facing the fears, difficulties, opposition and going after what you’ve been dreaming of doing and finding yourself in the process. I hope to do that soon…. 🙂 Muah!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

