#WillWorkForFun

STATS – Day: 81 | Distance: 9343.80 miles “only counting car miles – not flight” | Location: Washington, DC | Money Spent To Date – Gas: $1,013.12| Food: $1,126.38 | Play/Misc: $438.48 | Lodging $1,350.51

I’m back in DC!!! While I was on the road I signed a short term contract with a DC University to configure their performance management application and to train their rockin’ employees. The University was willing to work around my travel schedule and fly me back to DC for a few days.

I’ve been having SO MUCH FUN!!!

Working with FUN Peeps Rocks!!!
Working with FUN Peeps Rocks!!!

I’ve always been a firm believer in the “Work Can Be Fun” philosophy. In fact, in MY book, WORK “SHOULD” BE FUN!  Wouldn’t it be fantastic if you woke up every day excited to go to work instead of watching the clock waiting for it to end? So much time is spent at work anyway, why not make it as enjoyable as possible!

I will only WORK FOR FUN from now on!

Okay, I’ll only work for fun as long as I can afford to only work for fun. If I get into a position where I have to work for WORK, then I will make it as fun as possible. How about that? 🙂  I’m not only talking about “Talk Like A Pirate Day” celebrations (Yes, they exist and I love them) or department cook-offs, those are FUN and help balance day-to-day routine!  I’m talking about the “actual WORK” being fun. I only want to do work that excites and energizes me. I think its FUN finding solutions to problems, FUN is analyzing and understanding how things work and how people work, FUN is sharing what I’ve learned with others, FUN is documentation (I know, its a sickness). FUN is to learn and discover. FUN is going outside the boundaries, flexing or breaking old rules and trying new things. So that is what I’m going to focus on moving forward – FUN, FUN, FUN!

If you’re interested in finding out what is FUN for you, try keeping a list.  Every time you find yourself doing something you are really enjoying, RECORD IT (write it down, leave yourself a voicemail or email), you will see patterns developing.  Then look at your list and think about what is it about that particular thing that you enjoy, DEFINE YOUR PASSION.

Happy Discoveries!

Getting together with fantastic friends is tons of FUN
Getting together with fantastic friends is tons of FUN

“Passion isn’t something that lives way up in the sky, in abstract dreams and hopes. It lives at ground level, in the specific details of what you’re actually doing every day.”Marcus Buckingham

Next Blog: #TrashOrTreasure
Previous Blog: #GloriousWisdom
Back to all blogs from Pipe’s Adventure
8 thoughts on “#WillWorkForFun

Leave a Reply

