#HugsWelcome

STATS – Day: 1 | Distance: 261 miles | Location: Madison, New Jersey | Money Spent To Date – Gas: $19.65| Food: $6.99 | Lodging $0 

Hello.  My name is Piper, and I’m a (((hug)))er.

My first stop on a 4-month road trip across the northern US states is Madison, New Jersey to visit Carolyn and Steve.  Carolyn is an amazing hugger – full-body, all enveloping, with light and laughter!  Steve tolerates my “hugginess”…

Hugging is a great way to receive both a physical and emotional touch without any other attachments.  It is simple and readily available in abundance since it costs nothing and is socially acceptable in most countries although it might be restricted to men hugging men and women hugging women.  Hugs are FREE.

And hugs FEEL SO GOOD!  It’s like a roller coaster ride.  At first one might be a little nervous, apprehensive or awkward, and the minute you let yourself go into full acceptance and openness the endorphins release you feel so much calmer and happier.  I’ve felt that way hugging complete strangers.  I’ve been thinking about doing the whole “Free Hugs” sign experiment while I’m on my trip to help spread happiness to the world.

I’ve been extremely lucky to have many fantastic huggers in my circle of friends and family.  At work I had co-workers, where I knew a huge full blown hug was coming and we focused each wonderful hug.  In fact now that I think about it, I think we became friends through the power of our “hugginess”!

I’m not advocating hugging people you don’t want to hug, although it might be beneficial in the end.  I’ve had my share of obligatory hugs indeed.  I AM advocating to look around your circle of peeps and incorporate more hugs into your life.  You’ll thank me for it!

Hug More, Hate Less

10 Reasons Why We Need (at least) 8 Hugs A Day

Next Blog: #KeepOnTruckin’

Previous Blog: #ExperiencePlanning

Back to all blogs on Pipe’s Adventure

8 thoughts on “#HugsWelcome

  1. Arms wide apart whenever you’re ready to walk into them (or anyone else, for that matter).

    As you well know, as a repressed Anglo-Celtic Canadian, I was not historically a hugger…too afraid that if I squeezed on one end, the stick would fall out the other.

    Finally managed to lose the stick and now perhaps hug to excess, but as you noted, much happier for it.

    Love

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love your BLOG! There is a lot of really useful information for the like minded people, like me. You are a pioneer, Piper and faring very well, indeed…continue.

    XOXO
    Sam

    Like

  3. We are so honored that our home was your first stop on your journey! I love a deep full body hug 🙂 I think I’m the only person that can give Steve that kind of hug 😀 Hugs and love to you Pipes!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

